The Tootles and the Wards

Hello, just documenting my family tree. This is my Maternal Grandmothers line.

Mable is the daughter of Albert Wilkins and Harriett Ann Ward Wilkins. Harriet Ann Ward was the daughter of George Ward and Rachel Dickson Ward Johnson.

Harriet Ward Wilkins maiden name is Ward. She is my Grandmothers Grandma. She was born in 1879 and died 1924. She would been about 45 years old when she passed away.

Harriett Ward Wilkins is the the daughter of George Ward( 1850-1881) . George Ward is the child of Martha Tootle and Theophelus Ward.

I found Martha Ward whom I also belive to be Tootle- maiden name on the 1860 census living next to the following people. First She has her two children George- My 3rd Great Grandfather George and my 3rd Great Uncle James who was 1 years old. Next door living to. her are the following people: Kasiah-Kezia- Tootle-18, William Tootle-14, John Tootle-12, Dolphin Tootle 8, Eliza Tootle-4. Also, living on the other side of Martha Ward is Sally Tootle 27, General Tootle- 12, Frank Tootle-9, Joseph Tootle-8, Anna Tootle-2. Also note a James W Cotton who is 64 years old has a massive estate and is listed as white. It appears that everyone else on the listed page census is white or mulatoo. I believe these Tootles are related to Martha.


One thought on “The Tootles and the Wards

  1. My grandfather was born a Tootle, but raised as a Staton. As we have already established that Rachel Johnson your great grandmother was the mother of my grandmother Flossie Staton, this means that we are doubly related, because her husband was a Tootle.

Leave a comment