Emma Smith Davis Brick Wall

PART 1
Meet Emma! She is my 3rd Great Grandmother. Living in Scotland Neck, Caledonia, North Carolina. 

On Emma’s  (Smith maiden) Davis death record (1919) a man name Turner Smith listed as a informat says that Hyman and Laura Smith are Emma’s parents. I search nearby for records of a Hyman and Laura.


I came back with results for Hyman Smith, 65 Hannah,45  and daughter Sallie, 12, on the 1880 census enumerated on page 33. Hyman is a possible father. He is 65 in 1880, Emma is 33 in 1880 on the same census record as Hyman, enumerated on page 30.  The age for Hymans wife doesn’t  line up with Emma’s age, so maybe  his wife Hannah is his 2nd marriage and Emma’s step mother. 

In the 1870 census, Hyman is living with both Hannah and Sallie. Hannah is 30, Sallie is 3. 

On the 1870 census Hyman is enumerated on page 15, based on death record, his daughter Emma Smith Davis is enumerated on page 45. I’m not sure how far away that would have been in location/distance? 

Also, on page 14,  of the 1880 census is a Dolfin Smith, I will come back to him in part 2 of this blog post. See below.  Also, see the photo above of the 1880 census you will see Dolphin again and he is living next to Hyman. Back to him later. 

This is kind of where I hit my dead end. I took a break and shifted my energy into looking at my Ancestry cousin matches.  I started looking at my DNA cousin matches trees for clues and I started seeing a pattern of the same name over and over on different cousins  trees.  Turner (born about 1882) and Treacy Bell Smith(born 1885) is the name I kept hearing/seeing again.  Or better yet all roads lead back to Turner and Treacy Bell.

I located a few records for Turner Smith and his marriage (1903) to Treasy Bell indicates that Turners mother name is Liza Smith, dad is not listed. I also located a death record for Turner Smith. His death record (1937) states that his father is Tim  (1836-before 1903, mother is Anne. The informant is a Ed Smith  I later found out through other documents that Turners mothers full name is Elizann and dad is Timothy.  I locate Tim and Elizann on the census record 1880 on page 26 the same census for my Emma, Hyman, see above. 

Turner  would not have been born as his birthday is about 1881/1882. 
Part 2 : Ancestry DNA Matches who relate to Turner and Treasy Bell Smith
Meet match M. Clark. He is my highest 3rd cousin match on Ancestry. 


Column   B is my Grandmother

Column C is a 3rd cousin Ancestry DNA match

Column D is a 3rd cousin Ancestry DNA match

Column E  and F are both 4th cousin matches. (Column E and F are closely related, I think they are a grandparent / child relationship. Weird thing is my grandma is sharing more DNA with his  Grandaughter(younger generation) / as oppose to Christine’s grandfather Fat Albert. )

My column C And D, 3rd cousins we share a 2 nd GGP.  But who is it? 

 I used the FAN method for the part 1 of this blog post and when I did that  I found these  people who are in Part 2 columns C, D,E,F all living near my Emma listed in my column B on the 1880 census. 

Do you see how I keep coming back to Tim/Liza Smith on column C,E, F on my ancestry matches? 

The Timothy Smith who married Eliza Ann is 44 in 1880. Birth year- 1836. My Emma Smith married Ezekiel Davis is 33 in 1880. I thought her and Timothy could be brother and sister. I’m still not sure of that. They are living 4 pages away from each on 1880 census….. 

Timothy, I can’t locate a marriage record or death record for him. So I don’t know if I can confirm or deny a possible connection for him and Emma as brother and sister. 

Remember my Emma , her father was listed as Hyman on her 1920 death record. 


On the 1880 I find a Hyman  65 years old living with wife Hannah and daughter Sally not living to far from Emma Smith Davis. I think Hyman was remarried because listed as mother to Sally is Hannah and Hannah’s age Is 42. 


Leave a comment